Postal Index Number

Postal Index Number or PIN or Pincode is the numbering of the post office or post code system used by India Post. The PIN code is 6 digits long. First digit reflects region, second the sub-region, third the sorting district, and last three represent the post office code.
Pin Zones

There are nine postal zones in India, including eight regional zones and one functional zone (for the Indian Army). The first digit of a PIN indicates the zone and is allocated over the 9 zones as follows:
First Digit Pin Region States
1 North Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Chandigarh
2 North Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
3 West Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4 West Maharashtra, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
5 South Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka
6 South Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep
7 East West Bengal, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Assam, Sikkim
8 East Bihar, Jharkhand
9 APS Army Postal Service (APS), Field Post Office (FPO)
Sorting District

The third digit of a PIN, combined with the first two digits, represents a specific geographical region (except in the case of the functional zone for the Army) called a sorting district that is headquartered at the main post office of the largest city in the region and is known as the sorting office. A state may have one or more sorting districts depending on the volume of mail handled.
Pin Prefix ISO Name States
11 DL Delhi
396210 DD Daman and Diu
396 DN Dadra and Nagar Haveli
40–44 MH Maharashtra
403 GA Goa
45–48 MP Madhya Pradesh
49 CT Chhattisgarh
50 TG Telangana
51–53 AP Andhra Pradesh
56–59 KA Karnataka
60–66 TN Tamil Nadu
12–13 HR Haryana
605 PY Puducherry
67–69 KL Kerala
682 LD Lakshadweep
70–74 WB West Bengal
737 SK Sikkim
744 AN Andaman and Nicobar Islands
75–77 OR Odisha
78 AS Assam
790–792 AR Arunachal Pradesh
793–794 ML Meghalaya
14–15 PB Punjab
795 MN Manipur
796 MZ Mizoram
797–798 NL Nagaland
799 TR Tripura
80–85 BR, JH Bihar, Jharkhand
90–99 APS Army Postal Service
16 CH Chandigarh
17 HP Himachal Pradesh
18–19 JK, LA Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh
20–28 UP, UT Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
30–34 RJ Rajasthan
36–39 GJ Gujarat